top of page

Introducing - Peaches and Scream #111

We recently asked a few members of the team to answer a few questions to let us know a bit about themselves and our first lucky volunteer is Kelly Smith aka Peaches and Scream #111.

Q1) How did you get involved in roller derby and the Dare Valley Vixens?

I saw on my sisters wall on Facebook that an old friend of ours had shared a link about roller derby. It was a recruitment drive for the Dare Valley Vixens. I asked my sister if she fancied going for a look, we both decided to go the night down Clwb Y Bont where we met a fantastic group of people and were asked to join them for taster session on the Friday so we went along and I suddenly realised how much I loved skating as a kid and then joined their freshmeat course where I totally caught the derby bug!!

Q2) How did you select your derby name and number

-My nickname is Peachy so I asked for any ideas on a derby name and Dave who skated with us at the time came out with "Peaches N Scream" which I immediately fell in love with. I originally went with number 11 but with so many players already having this number it made it difficult at mixed scrims so I now play number 111.

Q3) Tell us a bit about yourself off the track (what you do for a living/what you do for fun etc)

I own my own business where I'm a dog groomer. I also own four dogs of my own which I show and race. I have done this since I was 5 years old and I love it. I enjoy watching my dogs run as I love speed which is why I enjoy roller derby so much it's fast and physical plus the people are always so lovely and welcoming which is unusual to me when a group of women are involved. Spending time with family and friends is always one of my favourite things to do too, they are into their dogs too so it make life so much easier that we can do the things we love together.

Q4) What’s the best derby name you’ve ever heard?

-I don't think I've got an answer for that. Everyone comes up with such weird and wonderful names which relate to themselves I really can't chose just one.

Q5) What are you most proud of?

I think I'm most proud of how much I have progressed in just a year of derby, but I'm really proud of the fact that in my first ever open bout I won an award for Best Blocker

Q6) Best derby achievement to date?

My best achievement to date is winning MVP 2014 for the Vixens, to be voted MVP by your team mates for the whole year was really amazing


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page